menu-toggle Created with Sketch.

Marcus Mariota ‘s Heisman accomplishments

Marcus Mariota won the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night and in the process achieved these notable accomplishments:

-The first Oregon player to win the Heisman. He was the third finalist from Oregon. Quarterback Joey Harrington finished fourth in the voting in 2001, and running back LaMichael James was third in 2010.

-The first Heisman winner from Hawaii, but he is the third player from Saint Louis High School in Honolulu to finish in the top 10 in Heisman voting. Washington State quarterback Jason Gesser finished seventh in 2002, and. St. Mary’s (California) tailback Herman Wedemeyer was sixth in 1946.

-Received the second-highest percentage of possible points in Heisman history with 90.92. Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith received 91.63 percent in 2006. Southern California running back Reggie Bush received 91.77 in 2005, but his victory was later vacated for NCAA rules violations.

-Received 788 first-place votes, the third-best total in Heisman history.

-Scored a victory of sorts for the Pac-12 and West Coast football. The last Heisman winner from the conference who did not play for Southern California was Stanford’s Jim Plunkett in 1970. USC has had five Heisman winners since then but the rest of the conference has been shut out.

– The first player since Cam Newton of Auburn in 2010 to win the Heisman, Maxwell and Walter Camp player of the year awards in the same season. Mariota also won the Davey O’Brien Award and Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award as the nation’s top quarterback.

-The fifth consecutive quarterback to win the Heisman.

Related Posts


  • College Football
  • June 6, 2017
  • Campus Insiders

Three Michigan State Football Players Dismissed From Team

Three Michigan State football players were dismissed from the team on Tuesday. Donnie Corley, Josh King and Demetric Vance were charged for an alleged incident on January 16 with a woman at an off-campus apartment. “After charges were announced, we took brief and immediate action,” Spartans Athletic Director Mark Hollis said in a Tuesday press […]

Live Events

All times are Eastern Time Zone.

Popular Posts