menu-toggle Created with Sketch.

No. 20 Terriers Open PL Tournament vs. American

Nov. 6, 2014

LEWISBURG, Pa. – After closing out the regular season playing its best hockey of the fall, the No. 20 Boston University field hockey team will look to advance to the Patriot League title game for the second time in as many years when it faces American in the semifinals on Friday (Nov. 7) at Bucknell’s Graham Field at 2 p.m.

The second-seeded Terriers (11-7, 5-1 PL) will look to defeat the third-seeded Eagles (9-8, 4-2 PL) for the second time this season. BU topped the defending PL champion, 3-1, in Washington, D.C., back on Oct. 24.

This year’s tournament is being held at Bucknell, which earned the top seed after winning all six of its league games. The Bison will face fourth-seeded Colgate in the first semifinal at 11 a.m. The winners will meet on Saturday (Nov. 8) at 1 p.m. for the Patriot League title.

Since falling at Bucknell, 5-2, on Oct. 4 in their lone League loss of the season, the Terriers have gone 7-2 with both losses coming in overtime, including a shootout loss to defending national champion Connecticut. BU has allowed only seven goals in regulation during the impressive nine-game stretch.

BU had five players earn All-Patriot League honors earlier this week, including two who claimed major awards.

Junior Sofi Laurito was named the Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year after totaling 17 points (6g, 5a) during the regular season. For the second consecutive year, Valentina Cerda Eimbcke was selected as the League’s Goalkeeper of the Year. The senior leads the conference with a .741 save percentage and stands second with a 1.53 goals-against average.

That duo was joined by sophomore Hester van der Laan (6g, 3a) on the All-PL First Team. Sophomore Amanda Cassera, who leads all conference players in points (25) and goals (11), was a second-team selection along with junior Rachel Coll (3g, 3a).

The other two major awards for players went to American, as Grace Wilson was the Defensive Player of the Year and Angela Virtu was the Rookie of the Year.

The Eagles, who had eight shutouts in the regular season from goalkeeper Kate McBeath, were paced by Wilson’s 17 points (6g, 5a).

Related Posts


  • College Football
  • June 6, 2017
  • Campus Insiders

Three Michigan State Football Players Dismissed From Team

Three Michigan State football players were dismissed from the team on Tuesday. Donnie Corley, Josh King and Demetric Vance were charged for an alleged incident on January 16 with a woman at an off-campus apartment. “After charges were announced, we took brief and immediate action,” Spartans Athletic Director Mark Hollis said in a Tuesday press […]

Live Events

All times are Eastern Time Zone.

Popular Posts