menu-toggle Created with Sketch.

Patriot League Announces Women’s Rowing All-League

May 18, 2016

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. – Boston University placed seven student athletes on the All-Patriot League Women’s Rowing teams, announced on Wednesday by the League office. The Terriers lead the six institutions represented on the first and second team squads, with Navy coming in next with four selections.

The All-League teams are based on the teams’ finishes in the Varsity Eight from the Patriot League Rowing Championships, which was held on Friday, May 13 at Lake Quinsigamond in Worcester, Mass.

Bucknell, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Georgetown each had two honorees, while Holy Cross had one selection.

Boston U., which finished as the overall runner-up by one point, where represented by a total of five seniors and two juniors. Seniors Killian Ballard, Bridget Behmke, Jo MacCune, and junior coxswain Marlaina Miller garnered first team honors, while seniors Dominique Baker, Emily Lerhe, and junior Annalise Routenberg were named to the second team.

Winning the overall title– their second in a row — with 49 points after winning the Varsity Four and finishing second in the 2nd Varsity Eight and Varsity Eight, the Midshipmen had a pair of juniors earn first team All-League: Julia Arthur and Miranda Kosmides. Sophomore Maeve Broeg and senior coxswain Alexandria Switzer earned second team.

Rounding out the first team was Bucknell freshman Menley Denham, Georgetown junior Christina Johnson, and MIT junior Larkin Sayre.

Bucknell freshman Katie Carroll, Georgetown junior Sabrina Gosman, Holy Cross senior Bridgid Carey, and MIT freshman Ellie Brewer completed the second team.

All 18 of this year’s All-League selections are receiving their first end of the year honor from the League.

By winning the varsity eight race, Boston U. claimed the Boat of the Year distinction, and the Terriers’ head coach Stacey Rippetoe was named Patriot League Coach of the Year for a second time since last earning it in 2014.

2016 All-Patriot League Rowing
Patriot League Coach of the Year: Stacey Rippetoe, Boston University
Patriot League Boat of the Year: Boston University Varsity Eight

First Team
Killian Ballard, Boston U., Sr.
Bridget Behmke, Boston U., Sr.
Jo MacCune, Boston U., Sr.
Marlaina Miller, Boston U., Jr.
Menley Denham, Bucknell, Fr.
Christina Johnson, Georgetown, Jr.
Larkin Sayre, MIT, Jr.
Julia Arthur, Navy, Jr.
Miranda Kosmides, Navy, Jr.

Second Team
Dominique Baker, Boston U., Sr.
Emily Lerhe, Boston U., Sr.
Annalise Routenberg, Boston U., Jr.
Katie Carroll, Bucknell, Fr.
Sabrina Gosman, Georgetown, Jr.
Bridgid Carey, Holy Cross, Sr.
Ellie Brewer, MIT, Fr.
Maeve Broeg, Navy, So.
Alexandria Switzer, Navy, Sr.

1. Navy, 49 points
2. Boston University, 48 points
3. Bucknell, 44 points
4. MIT, 35 points
5. Georgetown, 33 points
6. Holy Cross, 23 points
7. Colgate, 17 points
8. Lehigh, 13 points
9. Loyola Maryland, 5 points

Related Posts


  • College Football
  • June 6, 2017
  • Campus Insiders

Three Michigan State Football Players Dismissed From Team

Three Michigan State football players were dismissed from the team on Tuesday. Donnie Corley, Josh King and Demetric Vance were charged for an alleged incident on January 16 with a woman at an off-campus apartment. “After charges were announced, we took brief and immediate action,” Spartans Athletic Director Mark Hollis said in a Tuesday press […]

Live Events

All times are Eastern Time Zone.

Popular Posts