menu-toggle Created with Sketch.

Smith Named to the All-Patriot League First Team

March 2, 2015

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. – Navy men’s basketball senior forward Worth Smith has been selected to the 2014-15 All-Patriot League First Team, the league office announced Monday.

Smith is the first Midshipmen to be named to the All-Patriot League First Team since Chris Harris in 2010 and he is the first Mid to receive all-league accolades since 2011 (Jordan Sugars – Second Team).

In conference play, Smith ranked fifth in the league in scoring (15.6), fifth in 3-point field goal percentage (.460), sixth in steals (1.3), seventh in blocked shots (1.1), 12th in field goal percentage (.498) and 13th in rebounding (5.5).

In overall games, Smith leads Navy in scoring (15.4), rebounding (5.5), 3-point field goal percentage (.462) and minutes played per game (31.5).

Smith, who missed 11 games due to injury this season, scored in double-figures in 16 of his 19 games and scored 20 or more points six times.

In his senior season, the North Carolina native helped Navy reach its highest win total (12) since 2010 and its highest conference win total (8) since 2009. Navy finished in a three-way tie for sixth place in the Patriot League at 8-10 and was one game out of a tie for fourth place.

Smith became the 21st Midshipmen to surpass the 1,000-point mark when he reached the milestone at Holy Cross on Jan. 24.

Smith ranks 20th in school history with 1,159 career points, seventh in blocked shots (106), 13th in rebounds (584), 19th in steals (104) and eighth in career games started (96).

Smith and David Robinson are the only two players in Navy history with 1,000 career points, 500 rebounds, 100 steals and 100 blocks.

Seventh-seeded Navy (12-18, 8-10 PL) will open the Patriot League Tournament by hosting 10th-seeded Army (15-14, 6-12 PL) on Tuesday at 7:00 PM in Alumni Hall.

2014-15 Men's Basketball All-Patriot League Team and Major AwardsPlayer of the Year: Tim Kempton, Lehigh (So., F/C)Defensive Player of the Year: Luke Roh, Colgate (Sr., G)Rookie of the Year: Kahron Ross, Lehigh (Fr., G)Coach of the Year: Dave Paulsen, Bucknell

First-Team All-Patriot LeagueChris Hass, Bucknell (Jr., G)Tim Kempton, Lehigh (So., F/C)*Damon Sherman-Newsome, Colgate (Sr., G)Worth Smith, Navy (Sr., F)Dan Trist, Lafayette (Sr., F)**Unanimous first-team choice

Second-Team All-Patriot LeaguePee Wee Gardner, American (Sr., G)Cedric Hankerson, Boston University (So., G)Ethan Jacobs, Colgate (Sr., C)Malcolm Miller, Holy Cross (Sr., F)Tanner Plomb, Army (Jr., F)

Third-Team All-Patriot LeagueSeth Hinrichs, Lafayette (Sr., F)Nick Lindner, Lafayette (So., G)Jesse Reed, American (Jr., G)Kahron Ross, Lehigh (Fr., G)Kyle Wilson, Army (Jr., G/F)

All-RookieNana Foulland, Bucknell (Fr., C)Cam Gregory, Loyola Maryland (Fr., F)Cheddi Mosely, Boston University (Fr., G)Kahron Ross, Lehigh (Fr., G)Andre Walker, Loyola Maryland (Fr., G)

Related Posts


  • College Football
  • June 6, 2017
  • Campus Insiders

Three Michigan State Football Players Dismissed From Team

Three Michigan State football players were dismissed from the team on Tuesday. Donnie Corley, Josh King and Demetric Vance were charged for an alleged incident on January 16 with a woman at an off-campus apartment. “After charges were announced, we took brief and immediate action,” Spartans Athletic Director Mark Hollis said in a Tuesday press […]

Live Events

All times are Eastern Time Zone.

Popular Posts