menu-toggle Created with Sketch.

Women’s Soccer Places Six Former Student-Athletes On The Patriot League 25th Anniversary Team

Aug. 11, 2015

Photo Gallery | Patriot League Release

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. – The Navy women’s soccer team placed six former standouts on the Patriot League 25th Anniversary Team, which was announced by the league office on Tuesday. Nicole Aunapu (1995-98), Lizzie Barnes (2005-08), Stacy Finley (2000-03), Justine Fisher (1998-01), Shelly Moeller (2006-09) and Jade Seabrook (2011-14) gave Navy the second most players to be named on the anniversary squad.

The Patriot League is releasing 25th Anniversary Teams throughout the month of August for each sport that has been sponsored by the League since it became an all-sport conference beginning in the 1990-91 season

Nicole Aunapu (1995-98) – Aunapu led the Mids to a 5-0-1 Patriot League mark and regular-season title as a senior and was named the Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year for the second straight year. A member of the Patriot League All-Decade team, she is the only Navy player to be named to the first-team All-League squad four times. A two-time Women’s Soccer Scholar-Athlete, she was named the Patriot League Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year in 1998.

Lizzie Barnes (2005-08) – Barnes helped lead the Mids to back-to-back Patriot League championships in 2006 and 2007 and is third all-time in career GAA at 0.68. She was named the Patriot League Goalkeeper of the Year as a sophomore when she recorded a remarkable 0.29 GAA and also won the Goalkeeper of the Year Award in 2008. Barnes was a two-time first-team All-Patriot League selection.

Stacy Finley (2000-03) – The late Stacy Finley captained the Mids to their first Patriot League title in 2003 and finished her career as the sixth all-time leading scorer in League history with 126 points and fourth with 51 career goals. She was named the Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year as a sophomore and junior and was a three-time first-team All-Patriot League selection. Finley remains the program leader in goals, points and game-winning goals (23).

Justine Fisher (1998-2001) – Fisher ranks in the Patriot League top 10 in career points (8th, 114), goals (9th, 44) and assists (9th, 26) as the Mids won or shared the Patriot League regular-season crown three times during her tenure. She was named to the first-team All-Patriot League squad three times and was the Patriot League Rookie of the Year in 1998 and Offensive Player of the Year in 1999.

Shelly Moeller (2006-09) – Moeller, the program record holder in games played (90), helped the Mids capture Patriot League crowns in each of her first two seasons. A four time All-Patriot League selection, Moeller was named the Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year in 2006 and 2008, an NSCAA All-Region selection three times and an ECAC second team All-Star in 2009.

Jade Seabrook (2011-14) – The only three-time Defensive Player of the Year in Patriot League history, Seabrook is also a two-time ECAC second team All-Star and a two-time NSCAA All-America third team selection. Seabrook helped the Mids win or share Patriot League regular-season titles in 2012 and 2013 and is a three-time first-team All-Patriot League choice.

The team members are listed below by school along with each player’s years of competition in the Patriot League. Each school that participates in women’s soccer selected 25 players in the voting for the 25th Anniversary Team, and could not vote for its own student-athletes.

American: Friederike Engel (2007-10); Annette Scott (2004-07)
Army West Point: Holly Pedley (1994-97); Molly McGuigan (2010-13); Tara Williams (1990-93)
Bucknell: Lisa Gibbons (1991-94); Jennifer Dervarics (2005-08); Christa Matlack (2007-10)
Colgate: Nicole D’Orazio (1994-97); Jennifer Hughes (1993-96); Franny Iacuzzi (2004-07); Kate Barrett (2000-03); Kaitlyn Lynch (1991-94); Jessica Tuthill (1992-95); Jillian Kinter (2009-12)
Holy Cross: Kate O’Shaughnessy (1998-01)
Lafayette: Heidi Caruso (1990-93)
Lehigh: Gina Lewandowski (2003-06); Erin Iwaskiewicz (2001-04)
Navy: Jade Seabrook (2011-14); Nicole Aunapu (1995-98); Shelly Moeller (2006-09); Stacy Finley (2000-03); Justine Fisher (1998-01); Lizzie Barnes (2005-08)



Related Posts


  • College Football
  • June 6, 2017
  • Campus Insiders

Three Michigan State Football Players Dismissed From Team

Three Michigan State football players were dismissed from the team on Tuesday. Donnie Corley, Josh King and Demetric Vance were charged for an alleged incident on January 16 with a woman at an off-campus apartment. “After charges were announced, we took brief and immediate action,” Spartans Athletic Director Mark Hollis said in a Tuesday press […]

Live Events

All times are Eastern Time Zone.

Popular Posts